s RAVE NEW WORLD - Swarm mag

RAVE NEW WORLD

A self-described abolitionist of the concept of gendered fashion, Linus Leonardsson creates dystopian glamour collections for future revolutionaries.

WORDS BY THE AUTHOR / Originally from Stockholm and trained at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Antwerp, I have been based in London since September 2019. Right after graduating from the Antwerp Academy, I was invited by the Russian Fashion Council to showcase my graduation collection during Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Russia in October 2019 as a part of the Global Talents programme. This runway debut also marked the birth of the brand.

The collections are centered around the concept of demolition of gender expectations within fashion. They are a push towards a fully sustainable industry in terms of social and environmental responsibility – all with a hint of glamour. The core purpose of the collections is to create a feast and fantasy for a new generation of aesthetic revolutionaries, without forgetting about the important social issues at the core of the brand.

The title „Rave New World“ is a flirt with Aldous Huxley’s novel „Brave New World“ from 1932 where a dystopic future is portrayed as ruled by a worldwide caste system. With this collection, I’m drawing parallels between the dystopia portrayed by Huxley and modern society where conservative luxury and elitism still rules through secluded spaces. With the silhouettes, I want to transform the power dynamic of our current social structures. Hence I imagine a takeover of elitist secluded spaces, such as private members only – or country clubs – by a new generation of club kidz tearing down conventionality within these spaces.

Linus Leonardsson is a fashion design label that creates sustainable glamour for all genders.

Linus Leonardsson 16
Linus Leonardsson 19
Linus Leonardsson 1
Linus Leonardsson 7
Linus Leonardsson 11
Linus Leonardsson 3
Linus Leonardsson 17
Linus Leonardsson 14

Fashion by Linus Leonardsson @linusleonardsson

Director & editor / Ruari Lane  @ruarilane
Production by Christoph Ritter Studio @christophritterstudio
Production by Johanna Wiklund @johannatwiklund
Music is “Teen Offers” by hørd / @hordmusic
Music remix by Mondowski /@mondowski
Fashion assistant is Laurin Schuler / @laurinschuler
Fashion assistant is Yasmin Rose / @_yasmin.rose_
Assistant is Fredrika Törnkvist / @fredrikatorn
Make up and hair by Alberto Papparotto / @alberto.papparotto
Nails by Fuego Nails / @fuegonailsldn
Cinematographer is Kian Altmann / @kianaltmann
Camera operator is Pranjal Malviya /@pranjal_malviya
Model is Cassia Dyer signed at Contact Agency /@cassiadyer_
Model is Jordan Abai / @jordzbai
Model is Manu Loca signed at Tide Casting / @manuloca_
Model is Olivia Arben signed at Francina Models / @oliviaarben
Model is Samuel Curtis / @samuelcurtis_
Model is Tobi Areoye signed at Contact Agency / @tobs180

PH lookbook / Luca Latrofa
PH from video set / Marnik Boekaerts

 

swarm